Posted in review

Review: Empire of Storms – Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #5)

empire-of-thrones-uk“The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?” – Goodreads

The fifth installment in the Throne of Glass series finally sees Aelin claim back her throne… or not. When Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen finally makes the journey home, she is denied the right to her throne. Determined to set the record straight and protect her people, she and her newly formed court begin a journey across the continent on a quest to defeat the evil Erawan and his army of monsters.

Aelin

OH. MY. GOD. Can we talk about Aelin? I have never come across a literary character who I love more than this one, the woman is BADASS as hell. So we already knew she was amazing, the last four books told us that, but the revelations that were made at the end of this book! Holy hell, I can’t with her. This woman figures out that she’s more than likely going to have to sacrifice herself to save her people so instead of freaking out and trying to save her own life, she assembles a freaking army to ensure the safety of all her people. Like a gigantic army led by all of the people in her life that owe her life debts.

Then we got to the final scenes in the book… Tears were shed, lots of them. So she sacrifices herself to save Elide, she refuses to bow down to Cairn, lets herself be dragged away all the while thinking that because of the plans she has set in motion no-one will come after her.

Then Rowan, comes storming into the scene, dropping the BIGGEST bombshell he could have possibly dropped. “Where is my wife?” Omigod Sarah why do you do this to us? And now we have to wait a whole YEAR for the final book in the series and I don’t know if I can cope.

I’d go through every character telling you all of the amazing things they did but this post would be the length of a novel so instead I’m just going to give you one other perfect moment in this book.

Manon

She saved Dorian’s life, already we’re like loving her for that. But she killed a witch from the Yellowlegs, and the price is to be her second, Asterin’s, life. Now can I just say that I really love Asterin as a character, I think she really is the perfect ‘right-hand-woman’ for Manon, and so when she was ordered to die I was not happy.

Then Manon does the most perfect thing that Manon could have done, just as Asterin is about to die, she turns the hell around and ATTACKS HER OWN GRANDMOTHER (who I’ve always hated btw). I can’t tell you how perfect this moment was, I literally had to put the book down and process what had just happened before I could continue reading.

Then Abraxos saves her, and I think anyone who has read Empire of Storms can admit we all want a loyal little wyvern like him in our lives.

Moving on from fan-girling over the epic moments in this book, there was a LOT of romance in this novel. The entire series had carried a little bit of romance through it to some extent but all the ships were being shipped here. We got:

  • Aelin + Rowan = Hell to the yes.
  • Dorian + Manon = Hated it at first, but I’m very much warming to it.
  • Aedion + Lysandra = I’m a little indifferent here, I don’t hate it but I’m also not dying over it.

I think I’m just so obsessed with Aelin and Rowan that I can’t physically be as excited over the others.

We also got to see a lot more of the continent in this book as Aelin and her court travelled quite a bit, and though I’m usually not a fan of reading about people just getting from A to B, Sarah utilised her time well here and inserted some killer scenes that kept the story going.

I think you can already tell how I felt about this book, it was an emotional rollercoaster. There were times that were so unbelievably epic that I had to stop reading and just compose myself, but even the happiest of times were coated with bittersweet as something terrible was always around the corner. Then the end came and the devastation and the tears were real.

Look, if you’ve made it this far, just go and read everything Sarah has ever written, because it is all the work of a genius. I for one am going to continue to read everything Sarah writes from here on out and I can not wait until ACOTAR 3 next spring!

Thank you for reading!

Go read Throne of Glass.

Right now.

Leave a Reply

